How To Send a Confidential Message On Gmail
Google introduced a confidential mode in 2018, where you can prevent your messages from being shared. Google also uses TLS which is called (standard encryption) that keeps your email safe in transits. Moreover, Google has a more secure S/MIME encryption. This encryption is only available for accounts in business and educational institutions. Another way to keep your data safe is using Google’s confidential mode. Settings of confidential mode allow the user to send messages within expiry time and recipients can’t copy, share, or download your content. You can use this mode on your browser or Gmail app on your devices.
Gmail on Browser:
- Compose a new message
- Find the icon of the lock clock and tap it
- A pop-up will appear where you have to decide how long the recipient will access your message before it expires.
- Below the expiration date, you’ll see a Require Passcode category. If the person you’re emailing has Gmail, and you’d like an extra layer of security, select SMS passcode to also require them to input a passcode that will be texted to their phone number
A notification will appear across the bottom of the message that the message is sent in confidential mode.
On Gmail Application:
The process is the same for both iOS and Android versions of Gmail.
- Compose a message.
- Tap the three vertical dots in the upper right corner of the app, then tap Confidential mode.
- As with a browser, you’ll have the option to set how long the message should be viewable by recipients and whether it’s protected by a passcode.
- Once you’ve adjusted the settings, a message sent in confidential mode will display a small window across the bottom that details how long the message will exist before expiring.